OLYMPIA, Wash. (AP) – Washington Gov. Jay Inslee has signed a measure to make daylight saving time permanent in the state if federal law changes to allow it.

Inslee signed the measure Wednesday, but it will only take effect if Congress passes legislation allowing states to observe daylight saving time year-round. Currently, it is observed from the second Sunday in March until the first Sunday in November.

Florida passed a similarly conditional measure last year, and in November, California voters passed a ballot measure to permit the state Legislature to establish daylight saving time year-round if federal law changes. A bill was introduced there a month after the election.

While federal law allows states to opt into standard time permanently – which Hawaii and Arizona have done – the reverse is prohibited and requires Congressional action.

More than 30 states are considering legislation related to the practice of changing clocks twice a year, according the National Conference of State Legislatures.

More about: