Texting While Driving Could Cost You More
Oregon lawmakers are considering a bill to increase fines for texting and driving. Representative Carolyn Tomei wants to increase the hit for getting busted from $110 to $435. She says it will reflect the seriousness of the danger. But that is only the presumptive fine, it could be as much as $2,000.
Oregon State Troopers say when a driver decides to text at 55 miles per hour, it is like driving the length of a football field blind-folded. They call it just as bad as drunk driving.
The House bill will merge with another in the Senate to raise fines for cell phone use while driving.